Dr Frédéric
CHAVET

DOCTOR SPECIALISED IN EMERGENCY MEDICINE, VOLUNTEER LIEUTENANT COLONEL – EMERGENCY PHYSICIAN, VOLUNTEER FIREFIGHTER, EXPERT IN MARITIME MEDICINE

After studying at the Lyon-Bron Army Medical School, Frédéric Chavet obtained his doctorate in medicine in 1996. His early career led him to serve in the French Navy, where he practised military medicine in isolated situations on board various surface ships on all oceans.

Then, in a constant concern for progress but also out of interest, he acquired solid skills in the field of emergency medicine, both pre-hospital (Marseille marine fire brigade) and hospital (Hôpital d’instruction des armées Desgenettes – Lyon).

With this professional experience, he was recruited in 2006 by the Lyon Metropolitan Fire and Rescue Service as a volunteer firefighter to join the medical team at the Lyon civil security base. Since then, he has been involved in the heliportable medical service (SMH) where he is on call as a primary SMUR on an EC 145 helicopter.

He has been collaborating with the Fondation pour l’Académie de Médecine since 2016 in the field of helicopter emergency medicine (HEMS) and has already participated in several information events abroad under its patronage (China – Chongqing – 2016, India – New Delhi – 2019). He is an active member of the scientific committee within this foundation.

Dr Frédéric
CHAVET

DOCTEUR SPÉCIALISÉ EN MÉDECINE D’URGENCE, LIEUTENANT COLONEL VOLONTAIRE – MÉDECIN URGENTISTE, MÉDECIN SAPEUR POMPIER VOLONTAIRE, EXPERT EN MÉDECINE MARITIME

Après des études à l’école du service de santé des armées de Lyon-Bron, Frédéric Chavet obtient son doctorat de médecine en 1996. Son début de carrière l’amène à servir dans la marine nationale où il pratique une médecine militaire en situation isolée à bord de différents bâtiments de surface sur tous les océans.

Puis dans un souci constant de progression mais aussi par intérêt, il acquiert de solides compétences dans le domaine de la médecine d’urgence tant pré-hospitalière (bataillon des marins pompiers de Marseille) qu’hospitalière (Hôpital d’instruction des armées Desgenettes – Lyon)

Fort de cette expérience professionnelle, il est recruté en 2006 au sein du service départemental métropolitain d’incendie et de secours (Lyon) comme médecin sapeur-pompier volontaire pour intégrer l’équipe de médicalisation de la base de la sécurité civile de Lyon. Il participe ainsi depuis cette date au service médical héliportable (SMH) où il effectue des gardes de SMUR primaire sur hélicoptère EC 145.

Il collabore avec la fondation pour l’académie de médecine depuis 2016 dans le domaine de la médecine d’urgence héliportée (HEMS) et a déjà participé à plusieurs informations à l’étranger sous son patronnage (Chine – Chongqing – 2016, Inde – New Delhi – 2019). Il est membre actif du comité scientifique au sein de cette fondation.