THE FOUNDATION

“To promote access to the best health care
for the greatest number in the world.”

World-renowned medical expertise and an extensive network: the FAM builds relationships of trust with the Academies of Medicine, Science and Technology and universities in many countries.

A recognized public utility foundation, the FAM’s mission is to federate skills and promote France’s image in the world through healthcare.

It also aims to be a place for sharing knowledge within the French Academy of Medicine through debates on the three major health topics it covers: food, ageing and environment. It carries out field actions to train doctors, solidarity actions and helps associations and researchers through calls for projects.

Its missions revolve around 4 pillars:

The FAM, it is

1 million

of masks distributed in 2020 to 60 associations in France

30

SAMU helicopters equipped with sanitary bubbles

500

people gathered in 2020 for our 6 public health debates in 2020

1 000

trained health care staff

OUR
NEWS

FOOD CYCLE INTRODUCTORY DEBATE

What is good food? Diets for healthy people

The FAM initiated a new cycle on “Food today and tomorrow”…

read more

Beware of fake vaccines against COVID-19

Encouraging vocations?
As a result of the health crisis, trafficking in fake medicines and vaccines has been discovered, as shown in this document produced by the Prof. Gentilini and the Dr. Quentin Duteil.

EXPOSOME CYCLE CHAPTER 2

Known links between Exposome and diseases

In creating its Foundation, the French Academy of Medicine wished to put at the service of the…

Read more

INTERNATIONAL DIGITAL COMMUNITY OF THE FAM

SINCE ITS CREATION THE FAM HAS ESTABLISHED REGULAR RELATIONS WITH PUBLIC INSTITUTIONS, ACADEMIES, UNIVERSITIES, HOSPITALS…

read more

RAISE
AWARENESS

The FAM has chosen to address 4 major global health and social issues at the national level: environment, ageing, food and innovation. It has initiated cycles of debates, monthly meetings for the general public at the French Academy of Medicine to make concrete proposals and recommendations. Academics, experts, doctors, politicians and sociologists thus exchange with associations, start-ups and companies. On a sporting level, the Foundation is also present at the Ultra-Trail du Mont-Blanc through the solidarity bibs. This awareness-raising also takes place through a panel of the FAM’s communication vectors.

SHARE
KNOWLEDGE

The Foundation intends to share the best medical knowledge for the greatest number of people in France and abroad. It organizes debates and conferences on major health and social issues based on 4 main themes: environment, ageing, food and innovation. They are intended to be the starting point (or continuity) for the development of medical cooperation and exchanges with civil society and feed its advocacy work on these major topics. In the field, it trains more than 3,000 health professionals in helicopter emergency medicine in emerging countries in partnership with the Airbus Foundation.

ACCESS
TO HEALTHCARE

The Foundation proposes to support associative initiatives in the field or to promote scientific projects by organising calls for associative projects, calls for research grants and by giving its high patronage. The objective is to enhance the value of these actions thanks to this label by making them benefit from the aura of the Foundation and the French Academy of Medicine. Some concrete projects resulting from our forums are developed by the FAM. This is the case, for example, of a pilot project to detect hearing problems in young children through a South African mobile application: hearscreen.

SHELTERED
FOUNDATIONS

On June 5, 2018, the FAM became a Shelter Foundation. Since then, the FAM has been sheltering, advising and supporting foundations on a daily basis, which include the theme of “health and society”, in order to develop their actions in the fields of prevention, transplantation and surgery.


PRESIDENT

MESSAGE

To promote access to the best health care for the greatest number of people in the world, such is the mission that the Foundation of the French Academy of Medicine has set itself, with the support of the French Academy of Medicine whose name it bears.

On the strength of the expertise it can offer and its ability to unite public and private partners, such as specialists and the general public, around concrete projects, the Foundation of the French Academy of Medicine participates, through health, in promoting the image of France in the world.

The Foundation has four areas of action: sharing knowledge, access to healthcare, raising awareness and sheltering other foundations. With the support of its patrons, it organizes thematic debates and forums. It sets up calls for projects and training courses and assists associations in their development.

Because we are convinced that the major health issues we address can only be dealt with everyone, we create and maintain solid and lasting relationships with all our partners.

Olivier Bohuon

OUR
EVENTS

LA FONDATION

« Favoriser l’accès au meilleur de la santé
pour le plus grand nombre dans le monde »

Une expertise médicale mondialement reconnue et un vaste réseau : la FAM tisse des relations de confiance avec les Académies de Médecine, des Sciences et Technologies et des universités dans de nombreux pays.

Fondation reconnue d’utilité publique, fondation abritante, elle a pour mission de fédérer les compétences médicales, d’apporter des réponses à des sujets de santé publique et de promouvoir l’image de la France dans le monde à travers la santé.

Elle se veut aussi le lieu de partage des savoirs au sein de l’Académie Nationale de Médecine à travers des débats avec la société civile sur les trois thèmes de santé majeurs qu’elle porte : alimentation, vieillissement et environnement. Elle mène des actions de terrain de formation de médecins, des actions solidaires et aide des associations et des chercheurs à travers des appels à projets.

Ses missions s’articulent autour de 4 piliers :

NOS
ACTUALITÉS

LES DÉBATS DE LA FAM, CONFÉRENCE DE RESTITUTION

Sous le haut Patronage de Madame Audrey DUFEU SCHUBERT, Députée de la Loire Atlantique.

Lire la suite

LES DÉBATS DE LA FAM, CHAPITRE 5: ANGOISSE DE LA FIN DE VIE

Cette table ronde aborde avec des psychiatres, des sociologues, des théologiens, des médecins et des représentants de patients, les questions de l’accompagnement, de la place et du rôle des aidants…

Lire la suite

LES DÉBATS DE LA FAM, CHAPITRE 4: APPORT DES NOUVELLES TECHNOLOGIES

Les technologies de l’information et de la communication donnent de plus en plus de pouvoir aux citoyens et les engagent dans l’autogestion de leur santé. Ces technologies aident les personnes âgées…

Lire la suite

LES MASQUES DU COEUR, DES MASQUES POUR CEUX QUI PROTÈGENT LES AUTRES

Ils sont des millions de personnes, première ligne de l’ombre non protégée, dans toute la France, à venir en aide sur le terrain …

Lire la suite

SENSIBILISER
LE PUBLIC

La FAM a choisi de traiter 4 grands thèmes de santé et de société mondiaux au niveau national : environnement, vieillissement, alimentation et innovation. Elle a initié des cycles de débats, rendez-vous mensuels grand public à l’Académie Nationale de Médecine pour faire des propositions et des recommandations concrètes. Académiciens, experts, médecins, politiques, sociologues échangent ainsi avec les associations, les startups, les entreprises. Sur le plan sportif la Fondation est également présente à l’Ultra-Trail du Mont-Blanc par le biais des dossards solidaires. Cette sensibilisation passe aussi par un panel de vecteurs de communication de la FAM.

PARTAGER LES
CONNAISSANCES

La Fondation entend partager les meilleures connaissances médicales pour le plus grand nombre, en France et à l’étranger. Elle organise des débats et des conférences sur des sujets de santé et de société majeurs à partir de 4 grands thèmes : environnement, vieillissement, alimentation et innovation. Elles sont destinées à être le point de départ (ou la continuité) du développement de coopérations médicales, d’échanges avec la société civile et nourrissent son travail de plaidoyer sur ces sujets majeurs. Sur le terrain, elle forme plus de 3000 professionnels de santé à la médecine d’urgence héliportée dans les pays émergents en partenariat avec la fondation Airbus.

ACCEDER
AUX SOINS

La Fondation se propose de soutenir des initiatives associatives de terrain ou de valoriser des projets scientifiques en organisant des appels à projets associatifs, des appels à bourses de recherche et en donnant son haut patronage. L’objectif est de valoriser ces actions grâce à ce label en leur faisant bénéficier de l’aura de la Fondation et de celle de l’Académie Nationale de Médecine. Certains projets concrets issus de nos forums sont développés en propre par la FAM. C’est le cas, par exemple, d’un projet pilote de détection des problèmes auditifs chez les jeunes enfants à travers une application mobile sud-africaine : hearscreen.

FONDATIONS
ABRITÉES

Le 05 juin 2018, la FAM est devenue Fondation abritante. Depuis, elle abrite, conseille et accompagne au quotidien des fondations qui englobent le thème « santé et société », afin de développer leurs actions dans les domaines de la prévention, de la greffe ou encore de la chirurgie.


LE MOT

DU PRÉSIDENT

Favoriser l’accès au meilleur de la santé pour le plus grand nombre dans le monde, telle est la mission que s’est fixée la Fondation de l’Académie de Médecine, avec le soutien de l’Académie Nationale de Médecine dont elle porte le nom.

Forte des expertises qu’elle peut proposer et de sa capacité à fédérer autour de projets concrets les partenaires publics et privés, comme les spécialistes et le grand public, la Fondation de l’Académie de Médecine participe, à travers la santé, à la promotion de l’image de la France dans le monde.

La Fondation a quatre axes d’action : le partage des connaissances, l’accès aux soins, la sensibilisation du grand public et l’abri d’autres fondations. Avec le soutien de ses mécènes, elle organise des débats thématiques et des forums. Elle met en place des appels à projets, des formations et accompagne dans leur développement des acteurs associatifs.

Parce que nous sommes convaincus que les sujets de santé d’intérêt majeur que nous abordons ne pourront être traités qu’en engageant toutes les parties prenantes, nous créons et entretenons des relations solides et durables.

 

Jean-Marie DRU

NOS
ÉVÈNEMENTS